On January 7, 2017, the use of recreational weed in Las Vegas, Nevada was finally legalized with the enactment of the Regulation and Taxation of Marijuana Act, when the voting populace voted favorably in an initiative petition for recreational marijuana use and was approved at the General Election held on November 8, 2016. A resounding victory for “yes vote” was obtained to approve such petition.
Although the use of recreational weed in Las Vegas was made legal, the sale did not start until July 1, 2017. They waited for the opening of recreational marijuana dispensaries and retail marijuana stores licensed by the Department of Taxation (in charge of regulation and licensing of marijuana establishments).
Similar to other laws, the said Act imposed some restrictions on: who is allowed to buy, where to buy and where to consume marijuana.
Who can buy marijuana?
In accordance with Nevada’s new policy on recreational weeds, an individual can only purchase and possess up to one ounce of flower or ⅛ of an ounce of concentrates recreational weeds. It is for the exclusive use of residents who is more than 21 years of age, including visitors.
Minors, on the other hand, are strictly prohibited to use this drug, since this has an adverse effect on them. However, medical patients are exempted. A patient is permitted to buy more than the required limit of purchase as long as a State or local government-issued medical marijuana card is presented.
There are certain circumstances that the minor may be held liable, these are:
- By false representation of age as being 21 in order to buy marijuana. This can be charged with misdemeanor.
- Also, a fine up to $500, if the minor knowingly enter or loiter a cannabis-related establishments.
Likewise, any person who sells or gifts cannabis to anyone under 21 will be subjected to charges and financial penalties depending on the severity of the incident.
It should be noted, however, that the implementation of this Act should not be in conflict with other provisions of the laws such as:
- DUI Law, driving under the influence of cannabis is still considered a crime and has a severe penalty imposable, if arrested.
- Prohibition against consumption of weed in a public place, the law allows the person to use it only in his residence or other private places, provided that the property owners of such place allows it
- Laws on planting or growing your own weed
- The State licensing and regulation of cultivation, manufacturing, testing, transporting and selling of marijuana
And, other laws that provides limitations for the acquisition, possession, consumption and cultivation of cannabis, which a corresponding penalty shall be imposed in cases of breach.
Where to buy marijuana?
While, recreational weed in Las Vegas is legal; it doesn’t mean that it can be easily purchased anywhere (Black market) or can be acquired from anyone (unauthorized seller). Otherwise, the transaction and eventual possession of the weed are illegal.
You can only buy from authorized recreational marijuana dispensaries or retail marijuana stores in Las Vegas, provided you present any of these government-issued identification cards:
- Driver’s license
- Valid ID
These should not be expired and are scannable to confirm identity.
However, a recreational dispensary is prohibited to sell more than the required amount provided by law. It’s legal up to one ounce of flower or ⅛ of an ounce of concentrates recreational weeds like shatter, wax, crumble, and oils.
Dispensaries are mostly found throughout Southern Nevada. In Las Vegas, you can’t buy weed on the Strip itself, since there’s a law prohibiting dispensaries to be near the gaming corridor. However, you can buy weed in the industrial corridor, which is near mid-Strip hotels.
Where to consume marijuana?
How you plan to consume marijuana will affect where you consume it. Smoking or vaping, for instance, are not tolerated on public places. The best place to smoke marijuana is on a private property, like your own house, and other private properties (as long as the property owner permits you to smoke marijuana).
Nevada residents and visitors cannot consume marijuana anywhere they want. If you smoke or consume marijuana in a public place, you can be charged with misdemeanor and punished by a fine of not more than $600. Considered public places are parks, national forests, urban spaces, restaurants, bars, retail marijuana stores, or a moving public vehicle.