Retail stores that sell recreational marijuana are anticipated to open in Massachusetts.
More than two years after Bay State voters approved a ballot question broadly legalizing recreational marijuana, state regulators have provided final sign-offs to the stores, and all that’s left is the “commence operations” notice.
The specific opening dates are still unclear.
It’s a milestone for a new industry, as well as a state that once put a captain in the public stocks for kissing his wife on a Sunday. Now Massachusetts has legalized recreational and medical marijuana, and built a resort casino in the western part of the state and a slots parlor on the state border with Rhode Island. Sports betting is a possibility if state lawmakers decided to move ahead next year.
For marijuana advocates, regulators, entrepreneurs, and now customers, things are just getting started.
Here’s what you should know about marijuana in Massachusetts.
You must be 21 or older
Under the law passed by voters in 2016, you have to be 21 or older to legally buy and consume marijuana. (There are some medical exceptions.)
For people who are between 18 years old and under 21, possession is not legal and they can see a civil penalty of $100. [Read more at MassLive]